Good Home Cookin’ {Meat Sauce}

Along the path to becoming debt-free, many people find themselves reevaluating their meal habits, myself included. There’s a fine line between buying things for convenience and making things yourself and I’ve learned that there are some things that you just need to buy, but others can really be done at home. One of which is meat sauce. I still buy the stuff in the jar on occasion but for the most part, ever since I realized how easy it was and how much I actually made, I make it myself.

So here we go! Most of the recipes online are similar so look at this as more of a guide line that you can adjust to your personal taste or what you have on hand. So once you get the idea, the concept of exact amounts kinda go out the window and you realize why your grandmother seemed to be so great at cooking without recipes.

Ingredients:

  • 2ish pounds of ground beef (feel free to mix in sausage or ground chicken/turkey, etc)
  • 1 small chopped onion
  • 3ish minced garlic cloves
  • 28 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 2  6oz cans of tomato paste
  • 2 15oz cans of tomato sauce
  • 2 teaspoons basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
  • 2 teaspoons of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • dash of cinnamon Homemade Meatsauce Food Budget scratch cooking A Sparrows Worth-1
  1. Brown the meat in a large skillet.
  2. Mix everything else together in a big pot and let it begin to simmer.
  3. Once the meat is done, add it to the pot and leave it on medium heat til the mixture is even. Homemade Meatsauce Food Budget scratch cooking A Sparrows Worth-2

That’s all! Sometimes I add sage. Sometimes I add mushrooms. You could add a bunch of vegetables and no meat at all.It’s whatever. And the best part is that it helps me use up the last bit of a few things that I might have lying around. I’ll use what I need for the meal that night and put the rest in extra jars and such for next time.

Here I used a little more meat to help offset the little bow tie noodles 🙂  Enjoy and happy cooking!

Homemade Meatsauce Food Budget scratch cooking A Sparrows Worth-3

Leave a Reply

