Fundraiser {Knitted Together}

In all of my adoption research, the fundraising portion has seemed to be the most stressful (for now at least). Without it, this adoption is just not going to happen. So I researched like crazy for ideas, suggestions, and most of all hope. Hope in seeing other families hold successful fundraisers and sales to expand their home. The one thing that all of the blogs and articles had in common: do what you know. Don’t try to do more than what you are capable of because it won’t help and no one is going to believe that you want it anymore than you already do just because you’re learning another new thing. Well, I know photos, but that’s my 9-5. What’s the next best thing? Yarn. 🙂

I’ve been knitting and crocheting since I was at least 5 and was taught by one of the best knitting teachers in Arlington. Not bragging, she really was. I still hear older ladies mentioning her little shop when I’m at a big box store looking for a cheap skein or two. Now, before anyone starts thinking that I should be in some sort of textile olympics or anything, she only taught me what I would ask about. And at 5 I only wanted to know the basics, ya know- the bare minimum for getting a string to form an object. From there I asked how to read the patterns and how to learn what new stitches were so I could figure it out on my own. Now when the occasion calls for me to really think about something I will, but only in dire situations, like Christmas. Regardless, it is a skill that I have found many women wanting. Even if it’s just the basics.

This is where Knitted Together comes in. A once a month knitting/crocheting class for anyone and everyone wanting to learn about yarn work and/or hang out with others who are interested in the same. I have plenty of materials for people to use while learning before they need to buy their own, in which case they will begin with a basic scarf that will be donated to the homeless shelters come winter, or they are more than welcome to bring their own for a personal project. And of course, there will be some yummy snacks. It’s a win all around I’m tellin’ ya.

The first class will be this Thursday the 13th at 7pm. Recap: anyone and everyone is welcome! It’s just $10 at the door and heads up if you need supplies.

Hope to see you there!

-Sarah

For it was You who created my inward parts; You knit me together in my mother’s womb -Psalm 139:13

Leave a Reply

